Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Kingdom of Souls

Audiobook

A girl with no gifts must bargain for the power to fight her own mother's dark schemes—even if the price is her life.

Crackling with dark magic, unspeakable betrayal, and daring twists you won't see coming, this explosive YA fantasy debut is a can't-miss, high-stakes epic perfect for fans of Strange the Dreamer and Children of Blood and Bone.

"Magnetic and addictive. This book is black girl magic at its finest."—New York Times bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

Heir to two lines of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. Yet she fails at bone magic, fails to call upon her ancestors, and fails to live up to her family's legacy. Under the disapproving eye of her mother, the Kingdom's most powerful priestess and seer, she fears she may never be good enough.

But when the Kingdom's children begin to disappear, Arrah is desperate enough to turn to a forbidden, dangerous ritual. If she has no magic of her own, she'll have to buy it—by trading away years of her own life.

Arrah's borrowed power reveals a nightmarish betrayal, and on its heels, a rising tide of darkness that threatens to consume her and all those she loves. She must race to unravel a twisted and deadly scheme... before the fight costs more than she can afford.

Set in a richly imagined world inspired by whispered tales of voodoo and folk magic, Rena Barron's captivating debut is the beginning of a thrilling saga about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and the gift and the curse of power.

"Masterful."—SLJ (starred review)


Expand title description text
Publisher: HarperTeen Edition: Unabridged

OverDrive Listen audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780062964724
  • File size: 468561 KB
  • Release date: September 3, 2019
  • Duration: 16:16:10

MP3 audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780062964724
  • File size: 468613 KB
  • Release date: September 3, 2019
  • Duration: 16:26:07
  • Number of parts: 15

Loading
Loading

Formats

OverDrive Listen audiobook
MP3 audiobook

Languages

English

Levels

Lexile® Measure:740
Text Difficulty:3-4

A girl with no gifts must bargain for the power to fight her own mother's dark schemes—even if the price is her life.

Crackling with dark magic, unspeakable betrayal, and daring twists you won't see coming, this explosive YA fantasy debut is a can't-miss, high-stakes epic perfect for fans of Strange the Dreamer and Children of Blood and Bone.

"Magnetic and addictive. This book is black girl magic at its finest."—New York Times bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

Heir to two lines of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. Yet she fails at bone magic, fails to call upon her ancestors, and fails to live up to her family's legacy. Under the disapproving eye of her mother, the Kingdom's most powerful priestess and seer, she fears she may never be good enough.

But when the Kingdom's children begin to disappear, Arrah is desperate enough to turn to a forbidden, dangerous ritual. If she has no magic of her own, she'll have to buy it—by trading away years of her own life.

Arrah's borrowed power reveals a nightmarish betrayal, and on its heels, a rising tide of darkness that threatens to consume her and all those she loves. She must race to unravel a twisted and deadly scheme... before the fight costs more than she can afford.

Set in a richly imagined world inspired by whispered tales of voodoo and folk magic, Rena Barron's captivating debut is the beginning of a thrilling saga about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and the gift and the curse of power.

"Masterful."—SLJ (starred review)


Expand title description text
  • Details

    Publisher:
    HarperTeen
    Edition:
    Unabridged

    OverDrive Listen audiobook
    ISBN: 9780062964724
    File size: 468561 KB
    Release date: September 3, 2019
    Duration: 16:16:10

    MP3 audiobook
    ISBN: 9780062964724
    File size: 468613 KB
    Release date: September 3, 2019
    Duration: 16:26:07
    Number of parts: 15

  • Creators
  • Formats
    OverDrive Listen audiobook
    MP3 audiobook
  • Languages
    English
  • Levels
    Lexile® Measure: 740
    Text Difficulty: 3-4
  • Reviews
    Loading
    Loading